Checked October 9, 2026

BSV vs Rosebud: which fits how you reflect?

Choose Rosebud if you want a daily journaling habit on your phone: native iOS and Android apps, a free tier, voice entries in 20 languages, and Bloom at $12.99/month as of October 2026. Choose BSV if you’d rather bring one situation at a time, trace it through a single seven-step chain, and start with a free 10-minute Interview.

At a glance

What it is

BSV

A self-reflection web app. Mirror takes one situation through a seven-step chain, the Interview produces your Self Discovery Report, and Spark helps with practices and goals.

Rosebud

An AI journal. You write or speak an entry and it replies with “real-time guidance”; its App Store listing calls this an “Interactive Daily Diary”. [2]

Method

BSV

One named method in every conversation: attention, interpretation, emotion, body, defense, root belief, action.

Rosebud

Several frameworks rather than one. Its guided journals use “evidence-based self-reflection frameworks”, with CBT techniques and gratitude practice given as examples. [2]

Memory

BSV

Remembers across conversations. The Portrait shows the facts BSV has learned about you, and you review them.

Rosebud

Says it will “remember conversations from weeks or months ago” and that its memory “recognizes recurring patterns”. Whether you can view or edit what it remembers is not stated on its site as of October 2026. [4]

How you use it

BSV

Mirror takes one situation at a time, whenever you bring it, and spots patterns as situations add up.

Rosebud

Built around daily journaling, with morning and evening reflections you can set notifications for. [6]

Free entry

BSV

The Interview is free and produces a Self Discovery Report summary. You also get 3 starter messages once; after that the Free plan has 0 monthly messages.

Rosebud

“Rosebud is free to use”, and the paid plan has a free trial. The free tier’s limits are not stated on its site as of October 2026. [1]

Paid price

BSV

Basic $19/month (50 messages), Middle $49/month (200), Unlimited $199/month (soft cap 500). Annual is 12× monthly. A 14-day trial for first-time subscribers, capped at 20 messages.

Rosebud

Rosebud Bloom: $12.99/month, or $107.99/year (shown as $8.99/month), as of October 2026. [1]

One-time report

BSV

The full Self Discovery Report: $9 once, 15 sections, credited if you start a subscription within 48 hours. Every paid plan includes it.

Rosebud

No one-time report is listed on its site as of October 2026. The app sends “in-depth reports highlighting your progress every week”. [1]

Languages

BSV

Russian, English and Indonesian, across the interface and the conversations.

Rosebud

The App Store lists English and 17 more, Russian included, and voice journaling works “in 20 languages”. Indonesian is not in the list. [2]

Platforms

BSV

A web app at app.basaev.com that you can install to your home screen. No App Store or Google Play app.

Rosebud

Apps for iPhone, iPad and Android, plus a web version. US App Store: 4.9 from 3.3K ratings, as of October 9, 2026. [2]

Stance on wellbeing

BSV

A self-reflection tool, not medical care. It tells you it’s an AI and has a crisis protocol with help lines.

Rosebud

Its store listing calls it “a personal growth and wellness tool” and says it is not a substitute for professional mental health care or medical advice. It points anyone in crisis to emergency services or a crisis line. [2]

Where Rosebud is stronger

  • Native phone apps with a large rating base: iPhone, iPad and Android, rated 4.9 from 3.3K ratings on the US App Store and 4.2 from 2.83K reviews on Google Play (October 9, 2026). BSV runs in the browser only.
  • A free tier and a lower price. “Rosebud is free to use”, and Bloom costs $12.99/month or $107.99/year, while BSV’s Basic plan is $19/month and its Free plan has no monthly messages after the 3 starter ones.
  • A daily habit with voice built in: morning and evening reflections with notifications, weekly progress reports, and voice journaling in 20 languages.

Where BSV is stronger

  • One method you can follow. Every situation goes through the same seven steps, from what caught your attention to what you did, so you can see where a reaction started.
  • A short Interview with a report. Four short turns, about 10 minutes, free, ending in a Self Discovery Report summary; the full 15-section report is $9 once.
  • Memory you can review. BSV remembers across conversations, and the Portrait lists the facts it has learned so you can check them.

Choose Rosebud if

  • You want to journal every morning and evening and like a reminder that keeps the habit going.
  • You want a native app from the App Store or Google Play rather than a web app.
  • You want a free tier you can stay on, or a paid plan under $13 a month.

Choose BSV if

  • You reflect when something happens rather than on a schedule, and want to take that one situation apart step by step.
  • You want your allowance in plain numbers: 50, 200 or a soft cap of 500 messages a month. Rosebud’s help center says AI use runs on a weekly usage budget and doesn’t state its size.
  • You want to reflect in Indonesian. BSV works in Russian, English and Indonesian, and Indonesian is not in Rosebud’s App Store language list.

Using both, or switching

The two can sit side by side. Rosebud suits a daily entry; BSV suits the moment one situation keeps replaying and you want to trace it from what you noticed to what you did. Rosebud’s free tier means you can keep your daily journal there at no cost. If you’re moving over, start with the free Interview: it takes about 10 minutes, and what you say there carries into later conversations because BSV remembers across them.

Other comparisons

Compare

Sources

Facts about Rosebud come from its own public pages and store listings, read on the date shown. Prices are US prices in USD.

  1. [1] Rosebud homepage (features and pricing), read October 9, 2026
  2. [2] Rosebud on the US App Store, read October 9, 2026
  3. [3] Rosebud on Google Play, read October 9, 2026
  4. [4] Rosebud funding announcement (June 4, 2025), read October 9, 2026
  5. [5] Rosebud help center: usage limits, read October 9, 2026
  6. [6] Rosebud help center: Rosebud’s limitations, read October 9, 2026

Updated: